Ralph has a Last Name

On June 25th I entered a post that showed a photo of a headstone with some kind of moss growing on it.

Yesterday, while on my 30 second exposure photo shooting bonanza, I stopped by the cemetery on Grove Street in the hopes of finding a last name to go along with Ralph’s mossy headstone.

I was successful. Ralph’s last name is Harris.

Untitled

Unfortunately there are no dates listed for him or his brother Jackson, only their parents.

Untitled

His father, Samuel, was born on May 3, 1794 and died on June 1, 1874. Samuel’s wife, the former Roxgeny Woodbury, was born on April 4, 1798 and died on December 27, 1880.

There are actually five people in the family plot. There is father (note, a grounds keeping crew was cutting the grass while I was there. These stones will be looking much better kept by now):
Untitled

Mother:
Untitled

Ralph:
Untitled

Jackson:
Untitled

And Elizabeth, who I hadn’t noticed the first time I visited this family plot:
Untitled

Elizabeth has dates on her stone, 1836 – 1910. I wonder if that implies that Ralph and Jackson died at birth? I hope not.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I have never met these people. I have no idea who they were or what they were like. It’s been over 100 years since the last date shown on the plot. Still, I just want them to know that some one is still thinking about them. Gone but not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

