Uncategorized

On the Slide

It’s snowing like crazy out there. Actually, it is starting to slow down. We have a few inches. Much more than the less than one the forecast was calling for on Saturday.

The kids’ school had a two hour delay, but I had to get them to their Dad’s house so they could catch the delayed bus. The drive up there was… fun. We were out before the plows. Before, all the plows. Side streets, highways, no plows. We were okay until we got to their father’s street. There was a nice slide going around a corner down the hill. Nothing too bad, but enough for me to tell the kids to hold on. After that, it got scary.

Dad lives on a hill. It’s pretty steep. There was no way the CRV was getting up that driveway hill. I pulled into the driveway and told the kids we were going to walk the rest of the way. The base of the driveway is pretty steep, but I made sure we waited a few moments before we got out. My step daughter went to the back and opened the trunk. I got out and opened the back seat door so I could carry as much of their stuff up the hill as I could. My step son was still in the car but working his way out.

I closed my door and looked at what I was holding. Then my step daughter yelped. I looked up, and the car was sliding away. What the!!!??? She got out of the way, I grabbed my door handle and slid along with the car. He stayed in the car, not really knowing what to do. I was thinking that if I could catch up I could open the door, get inside, and try the brakes. Not that it would help much. There were some trees on the other side of the road, and beyond that… Canobie Lake. I did not want to have to jump in that lake, I’ll tell you that for nothing.

Fortunately the car stopped sliding once it was in the road. We all sort of stood there waiting for something else to happen. Nothing did. Everyone was fine. No feets were ran ovah. I look at it now and think… what the hell was I gonna do, grabbing on to my door handle. Like I was going to be able to stop a freakin’ car with my bare hands. Dumb ass.

So be careful out there. Don’t let any cars slide into you. Ouch, babie. Ouch.

Standard

One thought on “On the Slide

  1. O M G !!! That was scary just reading it! The whole time I kept thinking, what would happen if the car slid into Canobie Lake WITH HARRY STILL INSIDE!!! My heart was in my throat. Thank God the car stopped. What a horrible scare!

Leave a Reply

