music, Uncategorized

Prince

I’m working from home today. It’s gorgeous outside. I have all the windows open and a perfect breeze is blowing through the house. A little after 1:00pm I punched out for lunch and took a shower. When I got back to my computer Prince was dead.

I was never a Prince fan. You couldn’t help but respect the enormous talent, but his music just wasn’t for me. Trying to look at it objectively, I wonder how much of my lack of interest was actually jealousy? Probably a lot. Great singer, obviously a great songwriter, even if his songs aren’t my bag, and just an absolutely sick guitar player. I think that’s where the jealousy comes from.

In his memory though I feel the need to share some of his music. Here is Richard Thompson covering “Kiss”. It is pretty much the best thing ever.

Standard

Leave a Reply

