blogging

Getting Tired of This

November 2008 to December 2012.  Four years.  That’s how long I used Blogger before I got tired of it and wanted something different.

December 2012 to August 2016.  Almost four years.  That’s how long I’ve used WordPress.com and I’m really starting to get tired of it and want something new.

I want something different, but I don’t know what, and I’m starting to think there is nothing out there that is going to get me excited about all of this again.  I tried ghost.org today and their editor absolutely RULES.  Unfortunately it’s a paid service and their cheapest tier is $29/month.  Yeah, thanks but no thanks.  I want a personal blog, not a full blown business site.  Give me a break.  

I like medium.com a lot.  It’s just… I don’t know.  It’s more like creating a magazine than just a goofy ideas blog.  For some reason it seems really wrong to me to just post a photo, even though they look so good on medium.  I feel like anything smaller than an essay that takes 5+ minutes to read is missing the point.  I hate to say it, but if I want free hosting and a bit of social interaction, and I’m through with both blogger and WordPress.com, then tumblr might be the only viable option left.  I’ll be damned though if I’m going to put any more of my eggs in a yahoo basket.  Or should I say, a Verizon basket.  Ugh.  I am already up to my eyeballs in Flickr.  Marisa Meyer, I had such faith in you.  Now look at things.  What a mess.  No, I’m not moving my stuff over to tumblr.  That ship has very much sailed.

What else is there?  What other options do I have?  I don’t want to write a platform myself, I just want to post goofy shit.  Do I need to go back in time to the late 90s and use live journal?  What was the other one, typepad?  I don’t know what to do.  Maybe I should just give it up.  The whole idea of a personal blog is ancient history anyway.  This sucks.

Standard