Uncategorized

World Series Game Five – A Win and a Fail

Game five of the 2013 World Series was a win of gigantic proportions for the Boston Red Sox. It was also an epic collapse for me.

Jon Lester was amazing. David Ortiz came into the game hitting .727 and actually saw his average go up. Stephen Drew continued to be the worst hitter on Earth, but drew a key walk and scored a run and also continued his fantastic play at shortstop. David Ross had the game winning hit. Did I mention that Jon Lester was amazing?

Of course I fell asleep around the sixth inning. I tried to stay awake, but three nights of midnight finishes in a row was just too much for me. I did my best, but I failed. I missed all the Ross heroics. It was still 1-1 when I fell asleep. I feel shame.

My failure aside, the Boston Red Sox are one win away from a World Championship, and they have two chances at clinching. The Cardinals will pitch Wakka Wakka tomorrow. Fozzy Bear’s catch phrase has been all but unhittable in this post season. It will be a huge challenge to avoid a game seven, but the Sox have done screwier thing this year. Lackey will pitch for the Sox. He’s been awesome and we’ll need him to be awesome again.

The mentality for Boston must be that game seven is out of the question. Game six is our must win game. We cannot give them any life. We have to finish them. As my dad used to sing to us, “when you’re in a fight and you’ve got ’em down… kick em!”

Go Red Sox! Follow my father’s philosophy! Win game six!

Go Red Sox!

Standard

Leave a comment